Alexander P. Bird
1 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Both pieces mention Wittgenstein. But in this case, I don't think Frege was disrespectful to him. They even began to exchange friendly letters after that.

From my personal experience, I'd say there are many bullies in philosophy (and in academic places in general). So we should, at the very least, try to expect the worst and learn how to defend ourselves with words.

Last year, I came across three arrogant pricks in a seminar. They were talking to each other while a colleague was presenting his work, and the three insistently tried to show how they knew better than anyone else whenever they could. When it was their turn to present their work, I asked the best questions possible, reducing their research to ashes. The teacher agreed with me, which only made things better. I can still remember the questions and the reactions.

In a sense I think I would be a good teacher of "defense against the dark arts."

--

--

Alexander P. Bird

Postgraduate student in logic and metaphysics. Cinephile and new to sci-fi writing. alexand3r.bird@gmail.com